Count Basie & The Mills Brothers - The Board Of Directors
Label: MCA Japan | MP3 | CBR 320kbps | 83MB | Covers included
Genre: Jazz

This rare version of CD is a High Quality (20bit - K2 Super Coding), Japanese audiophile edition of the Count Basie and Mills Brothers LP, "The Board Of Directors", released back in 1967 on the Dot label (DLP 25838). I thought it was worth it to post it here. Some of you will enjoy it.

Track Listing:

1. Up A Lazy River
2. I May Be Wrong But I Think You' Re Wonderful
3. Release Me
4. I Want To Be Happy
5. Down-Down-Down
6. The Whiffenpoof Song
7. I Dig Rock And Roll Music
8. Tiny Bubbles
9. December
10. Let Me Dream
11. April In Paris

Review by William Ruhlmann

It sounds just like you'd expect it to: the Mills Brothers' smooth vocals punctuated by the Basie band's punchy playing, in arrangements by Dick Hyman.
Most effective are the older songs, familiar to both groups of artists, such as "(Up A) Lazy River" and "April in Paris." Less impressive are some contemporary tunes such as "Release Me" and "I Dig Rock and Roll Music" (!). But the Mills Brothers mesh so well with Basie that it makes you wonder why it took them so long to get together for a recording.

No comments: